22 Mag Semi-auto rifle recommendations

View previous topic View next topic Go down

22 Mag Semi-auto rifle recommendations

Post by Southbreeze on Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:58 am

Hey guys,

My Dad is on a 22 mag kick here lately, he's upgraded his Rossi 22mag revolver to one of the Kel-tec PMR30's (which, by the way, if a f'ing hoot to shoot; 30 rounds in a clip....come on!). Now he's wanting a semi-auto rifle to go with 'em.

I have no experience here, is the Ruger 10/22mag or Magnum research knock off the way to go? Or has someone got a good performing rifle that they'd recommend?

Any of your experience is much appreciated.

Cheers,
Breeze

Last edited by Southbreeze on Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:59 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : oops!)

Southbreeze
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Back to top Go down

Re: 22 Mag Semi-auto rifle recommendations

Post by Guest on Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:02 am

I only know of a few current production 22 wmr rifles; Magnum Research, Volquartsen and Remington 597. The magnum research is the way I would go. Parts availabilty, dependability and configuration options are some of the reasons why.

Back to top Go down

Post by 45flattop on Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:02 pm

I think but you should check on Ruger's web site but the 10/22
.22 Magnum model is not longer made so the Magnum Research
is likely your best option if you want the 10/22 plaatform.
You could look around for a used one though, put a WTB ad
and see what shows up but as with any used gun, your results
may vary widely.

45flattop
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by arnygollott3 on Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:14 pm

Excel Arms does them too...
http://www.excelarms.com/rifles/mr22.html

...and there is a 'rumor' that Kel Tec is developing a carbine based on their pistol that might have magazine interchangablity. Edited to add a link...maybe it is in production already...?