Reloading with Xtreme Plated Bullets

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Reloading with Xtreme Plated Bullets

Post by jwitcher on Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:08 pm

I'm just getting into reloading and I am starting out loading 9mm and .40 with the Xtreme plated bullets. Can I use the same load data as jacketed?

jwitcher
Full Poster
Full Poster

Back to top Go down

Re: Reloading with Xtreme Plated Bullets

Post by critt77matt on Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:19 pm

most say to use lead data so the plate doesn't come off

critt77matt
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by coolpapaj on Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:39 pm

I use the same load data but just cause I didn't know any better.
But haven't had any problems.

Guess I need to start worrying.

coolpapaj
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by insignia100 on Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:58 pm

As I understand it you can use the low end jacketed bullet loads.

insignia100
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by BigDaddyQ on Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:22 pm

They are somewhere in between cast and jacketed. Since most of us load for power factor we aren't anywhere near the velocities to tear off the plating. Witcher I am using 3.4gr of titegroup in the 9mm and 4.3gr of universal clays in 40. I am about to switch to vihtavouri n340 in the 40. So once I get a load worked up for that I'll post it here.

BigDaddyQ
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by jwitcher on Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:54 am

Appreciate the help.

jwitcher
Full Poster
Full Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by Reloader on Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:18 am

In a 124 grain 9mm I use 3.6 Titegroup as this will function in Glock, H&K and Beretta.

Reloader
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Back to top Go down

Post by vblackwell on Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:35 pm