Moving to Jackson area--what should I know?

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Moving to Jackson area--what should I know?

Post by GP11 on Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:50 am

Hey y'all:

New guy here, currently living in Houston, and just found out I'm going to be moving to Jackson for work for the next few years. I've been shooting for about 7 or 8 years now--mostly pistols but some rifles and shotguns too. Been a Texas CHL holders for a while now too.

Anyhow, I'm starting to get excited about my move to Mississippi. Gun laws seem really reasonable (better than Texas tbh).

My main concern is about carry when I first get there. I of course plan to apply for my MS CCW as soon as possible, but I understand that'll take some time to get issued. That leads to a couple questions.

1) Am I OK to carry on my TX permit until my MS permit arrives? I looked over the statutes and didn't see anything that would prohibit it.

2) My understanding is that, since I already have a permit from Texas, I don't have to wait until I've been a resident for a year. Is that correct?

3) Are there any time restrictions on getting the enhanced permit? Or can I pretty much just take the class and go on down to MSP to add the endorsement as soon as my CCW arrives?

Thanks for any help!

GP11
Full Poster
Full Poster

Back to top Go down

Re: Moving to Jackson area--what should I know?

Post by O.S.O.K. on Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:59 am

Welcome to the board!

I just moved here from Texas myself. I love it.

You say "Jackson" but I'm guessing that you'll be living in one of the suburbs? I hope so... Jackson is a rough neighborhood.