Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by tryn2hrd on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:19 pm

Haven't heard if the bill in the house to repel Mississippi vehicle inspection stickers passed or not. Anyone know for certain? Talk at work says it passed and they repelled it and that July 1 will be it.

tryn2hrd
Full Poster
Full Poster

Posts: 55
Join date: 2012-01-26
Age: 61
Location: Philadelphia

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by jakeg823 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:27 pm

I never heard of that one....I assume you mean "repeal"

Be interesting if they did.

jakeg823
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 8114
Join date: 2010-01-11
Age: 26
Location: Richland

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Blondie70 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:31 pm

Yeah.....I just had to renew 3 of 'em.

Blondie70
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 476
Join date: 2012-12-06
Location: Poplarville

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by ufgators68 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:34 pm

It failed.

ufgators68
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 541
Join date: 2009-05-11
Age: 38
Location: NE MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by dhollis51 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:37 pm

I need one.

dhollis51
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Posts: 9213
Join date: 2009-04-16
Age: 38
Location: Brandon, Ms

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Whisky367 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:45 pm

I've always wished they would tie inspection stickers to tag renewals. If you've ever had a vehicle that had separate dates for tag & inspection, you understand.

The idea: in order to get a tag renewal, you must bring a certificate of inspection. The current inspection stations would stay in business, the state could save a few $$ by not printing the stickers, and your tag & inspection would run concurrently.

Whisky367
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 282
Join date: 2012-07-05
Location: The Delta

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by canebreaker on Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:20 pm

Now we will be just like TN.

canebreaker
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 2314
Join date: 2009-09-28
Age: 63
Location: Southaven, MS 38672

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by NRA_guy on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:07 am

Description: Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Law; repeal.

Fiscal Note: No fiscal note conducted

Background Information:
Disposition: Dead
Deadline: General Bill/Constitutional Amendment
Revenue: No
Vote type required: Three/Fifths
Effective date: July 1, 2013

History of Actions:
1 01/08 (H) Referred To Transportation
2 02/05 (H) Died In Committee

Description: Motor vehicles; abolish inspection sticker and increase fees for reinstatement of driver's license after first reinstatement.

Fiscal Note: No fiscal note conducted

Background Information:
Disposition: Dead
Deadline: General Bill/Constitutional Amendment
Revenue: No
Vote type required: Three/Fifths
Effective date: July 1, 2013

History of Actions:
1 01/21 (H) Referred To Transportation;Ways and Means
2 02/05 (H) Died In Committee

Description: Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Law; repeal.

Fiscal Note: No fiscal note conducted

Background Information:
Disposition: Dead
Deadline: General Bill/Constitutional Amendment
Revenue: No
Vote type required: Three/Fifths
Effective date: July 1, 2013

History of Actions:
1 01/21 (H) Referred To Transportation
2 01/31 (H) Title Suff Do Pass Comm Sub
3 02/13 (H) Committee Substitute Adopted
4 02/13 (H) Passed {Vote}
5 02/15 (H) Transmitted To Senate
6 02/19 (S) Referred To Accountability, Efficiency, Transparency;Finance
7 03/05 (S) Died In Committee

It ain't happening.

NRA_guy
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 4728
Join date: 2009-04-25
Age: 67
Location: Vicksburg

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Guest on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:13 am

The revenue from inspection stickers goes to the MHP retirement fund. They're not giving that cash cow up.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by bar306 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:02 am

Repeal of this clunker failed. I heard this revenue program costs $600K/yr more to administer than it brings in.

bar306
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 326
Join date: 2013-02-14

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by O.S.O.K. on Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:25 pm

$5 per "inspection" and there's no inspection that I saw... I have a new vehicle that I need to license - it's got Texas inspection as I bought it there. I guess I'll need a MS inspection regardless.


O.S.O.K.
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Posts: 1623
Join date: 2012-07-27
Age: 53
Location: Carroll County

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Myers on Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:48 pm

Let me tell you a little bit about inspection stickers.

1) The law requires, businesses who administer "inspections" to buy certain equipment to perform said inspections

2) Administering of an "inspection", costs 5$, and 1$ goes to the Inspecting business. Hardly worth the cost of equipment, and labor that goes into actually inspecting a vehicle.

Due to the costs of time, equipment, etc..many places (like ours) won't bother with getting setup to do inspections. It's basically an unfunded mandate, that at the same time creates a tax, and a legal burden on citizens. Don't get your inspection sticker up to date? Get a ticket. It's just a revenue scheme that started out at least on the surface as a good thing from the good idea fairy.

Myers
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1130
Join date: 2010-08-16
Age: 25
Location: Ridgeland, MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Will_M on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:09 pm

What equipment? I always just get asked to turn on my blinkers and they give me the sticker.

Will_M
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1604
Join date: 2009-08-03

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by dcption on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:23 pm

I don't have an inspection sticker just gave up on getting them it's too much of a hassle with tinted windows so I quit getting them a couple years ago. Don't get me started on tint laws either ugh nothing like getting harrased about it by someone with just as dark of windows on their cruiser.

dcption
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1215
Join date: 2012-05-02
Age: 30
Location: Meridian

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by gutdoc on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:43 pm

4 or 5 years ago on Easter I went through a roadblock just outside of Crystal Springs with an expired inspection sticker. It cost me around $105. Since then I tend to keep them up to date.

gutdoc
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 762
Join date: 2013-01-29
Age: 52
Location: Vicksburg

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 45flattop on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:25 pm

The blanket blank things are nothing but a sham, the ONE time
I let one expire a JPD motorcycle cop followed me across the
Old Brandon Road bridge near the foot of Jefferson Street and
gave me $100 worth of totally bogus ticket, I learned later that
ONLY the MHP can legally ticket you for this, no local LEOs or
sheriff's deputies are ostensibly permitted to hand them out.

45flattop
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1749
Join date: 2010-05-14
Age: 68
Location: Jackson

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Jarhead5811 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:27 pm

I say add $5 to the cost of your tag and do away with the "inspection" sticker. They don't inspect anything anyway.

Jarhead5811
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 3155
Join date: 2011-07-15
Age: 40
Location: Jasper County

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by scott511 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:36 pm

gutdoc wrote:4 or 5 years ago on Easter I went through a roadblock just outside of Crystal Springs with an expired inspection sticker. It cost me around $105. Since then I tend to keep them up to date.

I went through one the other night with an expired sticker and they didn't even notice.

scott511
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 233
Join date: 2012-11-20
Age: 42
Location: Florence, Ms

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by jwatts on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:24 pm

I haven't run a sticker on the past 2 or 3 vehicles I owned. I refuse to get a prescription for window tint, or pay someone an additional fee to give me a sticker saying my tint is good so that I can pay $5 to get an inspection sticker. If there was anything inspected on the vehicle other than just turn signals and VIN number I may feel differently. Until I go through another road block I will just go about like I have been. The ticket is cheaper than getting my windows redone anyway.

jwatts
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 958
Join date: 2011-09-13
Age: 33
Location: Wesson, MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 94LEVERFAN on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:54 pm

jwatts wrote:I haven't run a sticker on the past 2 or 3 vehicles I owned. I refuse to get a prescription for window tint, or pay someone an additional fee to give me a sticker saying my tint is good so that I can pay $5 to get an inspection sticker. If there was anything inspected on the vehicle other than just turn signals and VIN number I may feel differently. Until I go through another road block I will just go about like I have been. The ticket is cheaper than getting my windows redone anyway.

Wait till July, one afternoon, REALLY HOT, roll all your windows down, pull in needing a sticker and bitching about AC not working. They won't see tint, you get a sticker. Done it for 4 yrs now.

94LEVERFAN
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 2518
Join date: 2009-09-13
Age: 56
Location: north clinton

Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum