Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by tryn2hrd on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:19 pm

Haven't heard if the bill in the house to repel Mississippi vehicle inspection stickers passed or not. Anyone know for certain? Talk at work says it passed and they repelled it and that July 1 will be it.

tryn2hrd
Full Poster
Full Poster

Posts: 55
Join date: 2012-01-26
Age: 61
Location: Philadelphia

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by jakeg823 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:27 pm

I never heard of that one....I assume you mean "repeal"

Be interesting if they did.

jakeg823
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 8193
Join date: 2010-01-11
Age: 26
Location: Richland

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Blondie70 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:31 pm

Yeah.....I just had to renew 3 of 'em.

Blondie70
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 517
Join date: 2012-12-06
Location: Poplarville

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by ufgators68 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:34 pm

It failed.

ufgators68
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 545
Join date: 2009-05-11
Location: NE MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by dhollis51 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:37 pm

I need one.

dhollis51
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Posts: 9621
Join date: 2009-04-16
Age: 38
Location: Brandon, Ms

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Whisky367 on Tue Jun 04, 2013 8:45 pm

I've always wished they would tie inspection stickers to tag renewals. If you've ever had a vehicle that had separate dates for tag & inspection, you understand.

The idea: in order to get a tag renewal, you must bring a certificate of inspection. The current inspection stations would stay in business, the state could save a few $$ by not printing the stickers, and your tag & inspection would run concurrently.

Whisky367
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 297
Join date: 2012-07-05
Location: The Delta

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by canebreaker on Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:20 pm

Now we will be just like TN.

canebreaker
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 2377
Join date: 2009-09-28
Age: 63
Location: Southaven, MS 38672

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by NRA_guy on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:07 am

Description: Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Law; repeal.

Fiscal Note: No fiscal note conducted

Background Information:
Disposition: Dead
Deadline: General Bill/Constitutional Amendment
Revenue: No
Vote type required: Three/Fifths
Effective date: July 1, 2013

History of Actions:
1 01/08 (H) Referred To Transportation
2 02/05 (H) Died In Committee

Description: Motor vehicles; abolish inspection sticker and increase fees for reinstatement of driver's license after first reinstatement.

Fiscal Note: No fiscal note conducted

Background Information:
Disposition: Dead
Deadline: General Bill/Constitutional Amendment
Revenue: No
Vote type required: Three/Fifths
Effective date: July 1, 2013

History of Actions:
1 01/21 (H) Referred To Transportation;Ways and Means
2 02/05 (H) Died In Committee

Description: Mississippi Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Law; repeal.

Fiscal Note: No fiscal note conducted

Background Information:
Disposition: Dead
Deadline: General Bill/Constitutional Amendment
Revenue: No
Vote type required: Three/Fifths
Effective date: July 1, 2013

History of Actions:
1 01/21 (H) Referred To Transportation
2 01/31 (H) Title Suff Do Pass Comm Sub
3 02/13 (H) Committee Substitute Adopted
4 02/13 (H) Passed {Vote}
5 02/15 (H) Transmitted To Senate
6 02/19 (S) Referred To Accountability, Efficiency, Transparency;Finance
7 03/05 (S) Died In Committee

It ain't happening.

NRA_guy
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 4879
Join date: 2009-04-25
Age: 68
Location: Vicksburg

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Guest on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:13 am

The revenue from inspection stickers goes to the MHP retirement fund. They're not giving that cash cow up.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by bar306 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:02 am

Repeal of this clunker failed. I heard this revenue program costs $600K/yr more to administer than it brings in.

bar306
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 335
Join date: 2013-02-14

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by O.S.O.K. on Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:25 pm

$5 per "inspection" and there's no inspection that I saw... I have a new vehicle that I need to license - it's got Texas inspection as I bought it there. I guess I'll need a MS inspection regardless.


O.S.O.K.
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Posts: 1623
Join date: 2012-07-27
Age: 53
Location: Carroll County

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Myers on Wed Jun 05, 2013 12:48 pm

Let me tell you a little bit about inspection stickers.

1) The law requires, businesses who administer "inspections" to buy certain equipment to perform said inspections

2) Administering of an "inspection", costs 5$, and 1$ goes to the Inspecting business. Hardly worth the cost of equipment, and labor that goes into actually inspecting a vehicle.

Due to the costs of time, equipment, etc..many places (like ours) won't bother with getting setup to do inspections. It's basically an unfunded mandate, that at the same time creates a tax, and a legal burden on citizens. Don't get your inspection sticker up to date? Get a ticket. It's just a revenue scheme that started out at least on the surface as a good thing from the good idea fairy.

Myers
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1131
Join date: 2010-08-16
Age: 25
Location: Ridgeland, MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Will_M on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:09 pm

What equipment? I always just get asked to turn on my blinkers and they give me the sticker.

Will_M
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1629
Join date: 2009-08-03

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by dcption on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:23 pm

I don't have an inspection sticker just gave up on getting them it's too much of a hassle with tinted windows so I quit getting them a couple years ago. Don't get me started on tint laws either ugh nothing like getting harrased about it by someone with just as dark of windows on their cruiser.

dcption
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1226
Join date: 2012-05-02
Age: 30
Location: Meridian

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by gutdoc on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:43 pm

4 or 5 years ago on Easter I went through a roadblock just outside of Crystal Springs with an expired inspection sticker. It cost me around $105. Since then I tend to keep them up to date.

gutdoc
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 829
Join date: 2013-01-29
Age: 52
Location: Vicksburg

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 45flattop on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:25 pm

The blanket blank things are nothing but a sham, the ONE time
I let one expire a JPD motorcycle cop followed me across the
Old Brandon Road bridge near the foot of Jefferson Street and
gave me $100 worth of totally bogus ticket, I learned later that
ONLY the MHP can legally ticket you for this, no local LEOs or
sheriff's deputies are ostensibly permitted to hand them out.

45flattop
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1836
Join date: 2010-05-14
Age: 68
Location: Jackson

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Jarhead5811 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:27 pm

I say add $5 to the cost of your tag and do away with the "inspection" sticker. They don't inspect anything anyway.

Jarhead5811
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 3255
Join date: 2011-07-15
Age: 40
Location: Jasper County

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by scott511 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 5:36 pm

gutdoc wrote:4 or 5 years ago on Easter I went through a roadblock just outside of Crystal Springs with an expired inspection sticker. It cost me around $105. Since then I tend to keep them up to date.

I went through one the other night with an expired sticker and they didn't even notice.

scott511
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 234
Join date: 2012-11-20
Age: 42
Location: Florence, Ms

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by jwatts on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:24 pm

I haven't run a sticker on the past 2 or 3 vehicles I owned. I refuse to get a prescription for window tint, or pay someone an additional fee to give me a sticker saying my tint is good so that I can pay $5 to get an inspection sticker. If there was anything inspected on the vehicle other than just turn signals and VIN number I may feel differently. Until I go through another road block I will just go about like I have been. The ticket is cheaper than getting my windows redone anyway.

jwatts
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 986
Join date: 2011-09-13
Age: 33
Location: Wesson, MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 94LEVERFAN on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:54 pm

jwatts wrote:I haven't run a sticker on the past 2 or 3 vehicles I owned. I refuse to get a prescription for window tint, or pay someone an additional fee to give me a sticker saying my tint is good so that I can pay $5 to get an inspection sticker. If there was anything inspected on the vehicle other than just turn signals and VIN number I may feel differently. Until I go through another road block I will just go about like I have been. The ticket is cheaper than getting my windows redone anyway.

Wait till July, one afternoon, REALLY HOT, roll all your windows down, pull in needing a sticker and bitching about AC not working. They won't see tint, you get a sticker. Done it for 4 yrs now.

94LEVERFAN
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 2542
Join date: 2009-09-13
Age: 56
Location: north clinton

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by jwatts on Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:57 pm

Not a bad idea. I know folks that get stickers for their motorcycles and put them in their vehicles.

jwatts
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 986
Join date: 2011-09-13
Age: 33
Location: Wesson, MS

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Blondie70 on Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:20 pm

My brother used to drive the backroads to work. He never got a sticker. Said they were crap, etc....(which they are). He said he would never get caught anyway. He did this for years.
Then one day a MHP was on that road. uh oh...ha ha ha ha ha.
He has a good sticker on that truck now !!! haw haw

Blondie70
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 517
Join date: 2012-12-06
Location: Poplarville

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by NRA_guy on Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:34 pm

My dad ran a mechanic's shop all his life in a small Mississippi town. When the first inspection stickers were required, they all expired on the same date (30 June as I recall) and vehicles were backed up for blocks.

They cost $1.25 and he kept the $1.00 and gave the state 25 cents.

My brother and I helped him that summer and dad made more money that summer than he'd ever made before in his life.

Later, my brother would take some stickers to college and put them on friends' vehicles.

Nowadays I see so many cars with aftermarket dark tinted windows, 1 headlight or a brake light out, I know some stations are not inspecting vehicles.

Yet 2 local stations hassled me about tint until I removed it.

Another one hassled me about a park light that was out.

I think they pick and choose whose vehicles they inspect closely.

Years ago my brother had an old black guy who worked in the Sears auto department and was inspecting vehicles tell my brother to raise the hood. That was strange (remember my brother used to inspect vehicles and is a pretty good mechanic himself).

The old guy shook his head and said, "You is gwy have to have ball jints."

My brother just shut the hood and went somewhere else.

NRA_guy
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 4879
Join date: 2009-04-25
Age: 68
Location: Vicksburg

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by dcption on Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:39 pm

Haha that guy must be good and have X-ray eyes lol Reminds me of a truck a friend bought cheap because a mechanic said it had 2 burnt valves he pulled the plugs they were factory installed with 320k miles needless to say it ran great after that. Guess what mechanic had been maintaining this truck since it was new.

dcption
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1226
Join date: 2012-05-02
Age: 30
Location: Meridian

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by tryn2hrd on Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:07 pm

jwatts wrote:Not a bad idea. I know folks that get stickers for their motorcycles and put them in their vehicles.

So you know me.

tryn2hrd
Full Poster
Full Poster

Posts: 55
Join date: 2012-01-26
Age: 61
Location: Philadelphia

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by encoreman on Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:16 pm

What a bunch of whiners, I can't believe you would fuss about giving the state another $5 for all the good you get from that "inspection" LOL Back in Jan went to get a sticker at a buddy's shop and they hadn't gotten the new stickers in so went to the GMC dealer and he wouldn't put a sticker on because 1 tag light was out!! Yeah I was a little bit annoyed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

encoreman
Contributing Member
Contributing Member

Posts: 1193
Join date: 2009-04-27
Age: 61
Location: Laurel, Ms.

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by lowflyn on Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:58 pm

I remember sometimes...then I just call a "friend" and get them taken care of. It's just a big joke to be honest.

lowflyn
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 256
Join date: 2013-03-19
Location: Horn Lake

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Scharfschütze on Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:02 pm

Yep, a joke. I go in, talk to the guy while he writes down my info and scrapes off the old one, puts on the new one, I hand him the cash, and go on my merry way.
It ain't a joke if you go through a checkpoint with an expired one. Found that out about 5 yrs ago. $75 ticket !

Scharfschütze
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 4700
Join date: 2009-04-20
Location: In the SW part of the "Land Mass" between Louisiana and Alabama

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by kms254 on Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:33 am

I would gladly pay 10 bucks if they just called it a tax and added it on to the cost of my tag. Hiding a tax behind the ideals of safety is so bogus, and wrong. Moving here from Florida I was amazed a state like this would have inspection stickers. Then I got my first one and saw how much of a joke it was and realized they are just doing it for the $$.

Legally your not required to have windows or doors on your car/truck... I've been tempted to remove the doors from my truck to go get an inspection sticker. Or just "roll" down the windows and disconnect the switch and say they don't "roll" up any more.

kms254
Full Poster
Full Poster

Posts: 78
Join date: 2012-12-04
Age: 28
Location: Madison

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by bar306 on Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:55 pm

If cited for inspection sticker violation all you have to do is go get a sticker before the court date.  Take the receipt to show you have the sticker on your vehicle to the court clerk and that's it - the fine for the violation will be voided.

bar306
Veteran Poster
Veteran Poster

Posts: 335
Join date: 2013-02-14

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 45flattop on Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:22 pm

bar306 wrote:If cited for inspection sticker violation all you have to do is go get a sticker before the court date.  Take the receipt to show you have the sticker on your vehicle to the court clerk and that's it - the fine for the violation will be voided.

That may be how its SUPPOSED to go but the one time I got a ticket for
an expired sticker, and by an officer who BY LAW was ineligible to write
such a ticket, a JPD motor officer, it sure didn't. Cost me well more money
than similar fines have lately when written by a MHP officer as is proper.

45flattop
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1836
Join date: 2010-05-14
Age: 68
Location: Jackson

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by dcption on Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:28 pm

bar306 wrote:If cited for inspection sticker violation all you have to do is go get a sticker before the court date.  Take the receipt to show you have the sticker on your vehicle to the court clerk and that's it - the fine for the violation will be voided.
They tell you that but it doesn't work quite that way you have to go to the court date and show it to the judge IF he is in a good mood then you can get it removed. Maybe it used to be that way and they tell you this but my wife and I both have had it happen to us and we went down there and they look at you like you are crazy.

dcption
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1226
Join date: 2012-05-02
Age: 30
Location: Meridian

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Jarhead5811 on Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:15 pm

It also depends on how long it was expired. If its been expired for over a year don't expect much mercy!

Jarhead5811
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 3255
Join date: 2011-07-15
Age: 40
Location: Jasper County

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by crzylee on Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:44 am

kms254 wrote:Legally your not required to have windows or doors on your car/truck... I've been tempted to remove the doors from my truck to go get an inspection sticker.  Or just "roll" down the windows and disconnect the switch and say they don't "roll" up any more.







You might not have to have doors but you have to have side mirrors. Run into this problem with the newer Jeeps when we take our doors off, they now make a mirror relocation bracket because the side mirrors are attached to the doors instead of the tub.

crzylee
Established Poster
Established Poster

Posts: 115
Join date: 2011-03-15
Age: 35
Location: Brandon / Flowood / Reservoir

http://www.cmsja.org

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by Tree of Liberty on Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:30 am

What the rule deal with tinted windows? Is there a certain transparency requirement? How do they determine what's good to go?

Tree of Liberty
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1914
Join date: 2011-09-08
Location: The Mountain

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by emptydub on Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:31 am

94LEVERFAN wrote:
jwatts wrote:I haven't run a sticker on the past 2 or 3 vehicles I owned. I refuse to get a prescription for window tint, or pay someone an additional fee to give me a sticker saying my tint is good so that I can pay $5 to get an inspection sticker. If there was anything inspected on the vehicle other than just turn signals and VIN number I may feel differently. Until I go through another road block I will just go about like I have been. The ticket is cheaper than getting my windows redone anyway.

Wait till July, one afternoon, REALLY HOT, roll all your windows down, pull in needing a sticker and bitching about AC not working. They won't see tint, you get a sticker. Done it for 4 yrs now.

That may work as far as getting your inspection sticker, but you can still get a ticket for illegal tint.  I was pulled over by a State Trooper going the opposite way on Highway 18 near Raymond one afternoon after he spotted my dark windows. He pulled a u-turn like he was in a Fast & Furious movie! I tried the ol' "... but it passed inspection...." excuse, and quickly got a "I don't care how many stickers you've got on your windshield, the tint is STILL ILLEGAL!"

He gave me a ticket, and told me if it didn't come off, and he caught me again, he'd make me pull it off on the side of the road in front of him. Not sure if he could "legally" do that, but this was years ago and his scare tactics worked (not to mention I was in college and couldn't afford any more tickets). 

Just a friendly warning.... just 'cause it "passes" inspection, doesn't mean it's not illegal after you're pulled over!

emptydub
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 512
Join date: 2012-04-10
Location: Jackson-Metro Area

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 94LEVERFAN on Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:20 am

emptydub wrote:
94LEVERFAN wrote:
jwatts wrote:I haven't run a sticker on the past 2 or 3 vehicles I owned. I refuse to get a prescription for window tint, or pay someone an additional fee to give me a sticker saying my tint is good so that I can pay $5 to get an inspection sticker. If there was anything inspected on the vehicle other than just turn signals and VIN number I may feel differently. Until I go through another road block I will just go about like I have been. The ticket is cheaper than getting my windows redone anyway.

Wait till July, one afternoon, REALLY HOT, roll all your windows down, pull in needing a sticker and bitching about AC not working. They won't see tint, you get a sticker. Done it for 4 yrs now.

That may work as far as getting your inspection sticker, but you can still get a ticket for illegal tint.  I was pulled over by a State Trooper going the opposite way on Highway 18 near Raymond one afternoon after he spotted my dark windows. He pulled a u-turn like he was in a Fast & Furious movie! I tried the ol' "... but it passed inspection...." excuse, and quickly got a "I don't care how many stickers you've got on your windshield, the tint is STILL ILLEGAL!"

He gave me a ticket, and told me if it didn't come off, and he caught me again, he'd make me pull it off on the side of the road in front of him. Not sure if he could "legally" do that, but this was years ago and his scare tactics worked (not to mention I was in college and couldn't afford any more tickets). 

Just a friendly warning.... just 'cause it "passes" inspection, doesn't mean it's not illegal after you're pulled over!

My AC REALLY does not work.  My windows are down unless it is really cold or raining really hard.  Sure not worried about getting a tint sticker in the rain, ain't gonna happen.  
PS, if I am getting pulled over, windows are down before officer friendly gets out of his vehicle.  Do my damndest not to get stopped tho, lol.

94LEVERFAN
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 2542
Join date: 2009-09-13
Age: 56
Location: north clinton

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 45flattop on Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:29 pm

Jarhead5811 wrote:It also depends on how long it was expired. If its been expired for over a year don't expect much mercy!

when I got the one ticket I ever got for one it was expired less than one month, still
cost me over $100.

45flattop
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1836
Join date: 2010-05-14
Age: 68
Location: Jackson

Back to top Go down

Re: Mississippi state vehicle inspection stickers

Post by 45flattop on Tue Jun 18, 2013 5:33 pm

Tree of Liberty wrote:What the rule deal with tinted windows? Is there a certain transparency requirement? How do they determine what's good to go?

Officers are SUPPOSED to be issued and carried in their patrol vehicles as standard
equipment a card with a panel showing the darkest legal tint under the law but I
suspect most don't these days what with the proliferation of illegal probable drug
dealing cars on the road for anyone with eyes to look. A Surefire 200 Lumen light
won't penetrate most of those so its officialdom persecuting the law abiding once
again.

45flattop
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster

Posts: 1836
Join date: 2010-05-14
Age: 68
Location: Jackson

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum